Telephone: +353 (0)91 532 460  |  |  Contact Us

All-Ireland Senior Football medal, 1964

All-Ireland winning medal from the 1964 Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) All-Ireland Senior Football Final, Galway versus Kerry held on 27 September, which belonged to Pat Donnellan, Galway. Galway defeated Kerry 0-15 to 0-10 in front of an attendance of over 76,000 people.  This win would be the first of the famous Galway ‘Three in a Row’ between 1964 and 1966.
The 1964 Galway team comprised: Johnny Geraghty; Enda Colleran; Noel Tierney; Bosco McDermott; John Donnellan (Captain); Sean Meade; Martin Newell; Mick Garrett; Mick Reynolds; Cyril Dunne; Mattie McDonagh; Séamus Leydon; Christy Tyrrell; Seán Cleary; John Keenan
Substitutes: Frank McLoughlin; Kieran O’Connor; Michael Coen; Pat Donnellan; Brian Geraghty; Tom Sands; Tommy Keenan
A report of the game by Paddy Downey in the Irish Times in 1964 described the game as ‘…the dream of a lifetime came true for fifteen Galway men, who not merely beat but trounced the Munster champions by fifteen points to ten’.
Acquired: Donated
Museum Reg: GCM2018:005
Location: Storage

Get the latest Galway City Museum news directly to your inbox!

Scroll to Top
Skip to content